Another Rare Johnny Smith Cut

I was sent some tapes years ago from a guy in the US (Bill Kozakewich) and it’s taken a fair while but I’ve managed to get the cream of them onto Youtube. The latest I put up is the standard “Stella by Starlight” and he burns on it!

Feel free to click through to my YT channel and there is a playlist of the ones I’ve put up on the right hand side (just called Johnny Smith) Don’t forget to subscribe to me while you’re there and I will follow back.

Enjoy!

  1. #1 by Mike Miller on March 16, 2012 - 3:35 pm

    Hi Dan,
    Thank you for uploading this rare live track of the great Johnny Smith.
    When I first heard his ‘Moonlight In Vermont’ version, I just had to work out his beautiful chord inversions.
    It inspired with a lot of new ideas for arranging chord melodies.

    • #2 by DJ on March 18, 2012 - 2:41 pm

      He had a great conception didn’t he? I too studied his chord forms and it unlocked a whole new world of exploration!

Leave a Reply

