New YouTube Clip

I was playing my Yamaha after a gig the other day thinking that it was working much better than the Eastman recently for me, then the next day I picked up the Eastman and it was playing and sounding great and so I’ve fallen in love with it all over again, so much so I felt inspired enough to do a clip playing over “Stolen Moments”.

In honour of the late great Oliver Nelson who wrote the tune, I was thinking and using the augmented scale in places during this take as his solo on the original had the most famous use of the scale on record.

It uses the notes from 3 triads a major third apart- C E G | E G# B |Ab C Eb. Enharmonics aside this gives us C D# E G G# B

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

